Home » Uncategorized » The Bad Day

The Bad Day

Days don’t have feelings or emotions. They don’t have depression or angst or anger. They don’t smell fear or cozy up to you. A day is just the passage of time, seconds to minutes to hours until the day’s and the next begun. The moments of the day aren’t good or evil, right or wrong. They simply occur.

All that being said, today was a bad day that was out to get me.

I woke on the wrong side of the bed, tired and cranky and weary. The disasters at work didn’t come one at a time, they bum rushed me. In the midst of dealing with one problem, another came up. Then another. Then another. Soon I was managing problems and getting things resolved and it was time for lunch. My lunch boiled over in the microwave, spilling everywhere.

That’s when I started thinking I needed to go home and go back to bed.

I stuck with it, though. Cleaned up the microwave. Resolved the big issue. Then the next biggest. Then the next. Then the next. Triaged the ones that were more suggestions and requests than errors. Finally got all the problems resolved and the crises averted.

Things got better once I made it home but I can’t shake the feeling that today was out to get me. There was the unmistakable looming dread that permeates a day that’s just bad all around. I’m looking forward to hitting the sack and putting this whole day behind me.

 

Leave a comment