Home » Personal » Becoming

Becoming

Have you ever wanted to transplant yourself into someone else’s life for a little while? Maybe someone wildly rich and famous? Have you ever wanted to walk a mile in someone elses’ shoes, literally? Sometimes I wonder if I have it better or worse than other people. I’d like to think I have it just about the same as everyone else. Sometimes good things happen, sometimes bad things happen. Life’s a crap shoot for everyone.

So what would it be like, being someone else? The lady at the checkout at the grocery store. The guy driving past with his music thumping. The head of a major corporation. That bum pulling his cart down the sidewalk. An airline pilot. A sommelier. A professional traveller. A food critic. A pro wrestler. A ship captain.

Keep in mind, I’m not talking about doing these jobs. I’m talking about completely becoming that person. The physical body, the bank account, the job, the vehicle, the thought processes, the whole thing. What if you could be anyone but you had to completely transition over to being them? Would you rather have your thoughts? What about your friends? Your car? Would you be willing to give up everything you have to become someone else, stuff, body, mind, and soul?

While it’s nice to consider, I don’t believe I’d like to become someone else. Even with all the failings and troubles in my life, I wouldn’t want to change into something I wouldn’t recognize, something wholly not me. I’m perfectly happy being myself, thanks very much.

Leave a comment